US appoints 15 geospatial advisors

The US Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar appointed 15 individuals to serve as members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee (NGAC). Five amongst 15 have been re-appointed and they are Dick Clark, State of Montana; Jack Dangermond, ESRI; Dr. Jerry Johnston, US Environmental Protection Agency; Anne Hale Miglarese, Booz Allen Hamilton; and Matt O’Connell, GeoEye.

Other ten newly appointed advisors are: Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz, University of Mississippi; Laurie Kurilla, Ventura County, CA; Dr. E. Donald McKay, State of Illinois; Dr. Timothy Nyerges, University of Washington; Pat Olson, Aero-Metric, Inc.; Mark Reichardt, Open Geospatial Consortium; Anthony Spicci, State of Missouri; Gary Thompson, State of North Carolina; Gene Trobia, State of Arizona; and David Wyatt, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians. All 15 members have been selected to serve for next three years.

The committee provides recommendations on federal geospatial policy and management issues and advice on development of the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI). The NSDI promotes sharing of geospatial data throughout all levels of government, the private and non-profit sectors, and the academic community.

To read the full article, click here.

Information taken directly from:
Geospatial World

Sachiye Day, VERTICES intern


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s